SC State University Named Oak Ridge Associated Universities Newest Associate Member

Friday, March 8, 2013

Oak Ridge Associated UniversitiesSC State University was recently named as one of the newest associate members of Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) university consortium during their 68th annual meeting of the ORAU Council of Sponsoring Institutions held in Oak Ridge, Tenn. During the 68th annual meeting, SC State joined Philadelphia University as an associate member.  Universities such as, Colorado State University, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of Wisconsin-Madison and the University of Utah joined as the newest ORAU sponsoring institutions. SC State University administrators, Dr. Cynthia A. Warrick, interim president and Dr. Adrienne Cooper, associate vice president of Research, Economic Development and Public Service were instrumental in SC State University becoming an associate member of ORAU’s university consortium.

ORAU’s member institutions benefit from its position as the principal resource for engaging academia in the research and education related actions of UT-Battelle/Oak Ridge National Laboratory (ORNL), the Y-12 National Security Complex/National Nuclear Security Administration and the Department of Energy. Access to those entities will offer greater opportunities for research funding and higher visibility. By becoming a member of the ORAU consortium, SC State University can participate in exciting collaborations with national laboratories, federal agencies, other educational and governmental entities, and the private sector. In addition, the professional growth of SC State's faculty and students will be enhanced by ORAU’s various annual programs, which offers grants, knowledge-strengthening competitions, and interactions with scientific leaders.

Like never before, universities today face serious challenges in securing research funding and attracting students into scientific and technical fields necessary to compete in a global arena. ORAU addresses these challenges by providing research grants; promoting opportunities for collaboration among government, universities, private industry and creating smart partnerships for innovation and advances in scientific research and education.

With these additions, the ORAU Consortium now consists of 109 sponsoring institutions and 26 associate members, representing 31 states as well as the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico and London. Membership in the ORAU Consortium allows faculty and students at member institutions opportunities to win members-only grants and internships as well as participate in laboratory research at federal facilities, including ORNL.