Four Criminal Justice Students Inducted into National Criminal Justice Honor Society

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Alpha Phi Sigma at SC State University

Four students in the criminal justice program at SC State University were inducted into the Gamma Phi Chapter of Alpha Phi Sigma, a nationally recognized honor society for students pursuing a degree in the criminal justice field. The New inductees were:  Cindy Okochi, a junior from Columbia, S.C.; Tamara Smith, a junior from Blythewood, S.C.;  Kimberly Reece, a junior from Jonesboro, Ga. and Krystal Glover, a senior from Summerville, S.C. 


The purpose of Alpha Phi Sigma is to recognize scholarly achievement in the field of criminal justice.  Member benefits include eligibility for scholarships, internships, involvement in the national conference, and the opportunity to interact with other goal-oriented, energetic students.  They also have an opportunity to meet and network with professionals at the local, state and national levels.   


In order to qualify for membership, participants must complete one-third of the credit hours required for graduation, with at least 12 credit hours in the criminal justice field; must be recommended by a local chapter advisor or faculty member; must possess and maintain a 3.2 cumulative grade point average and must rank in the top 35 percent of their class.  Alpha Phi Sigma is open to those with a declared criminal justice major or minor. 


In April, 2001, students from SC State University’s criminal justice program were granted a chapter charter.  The charter members were: Betty Bates, LeeShun Brown, Samuel Dailey, Tyrell Davis, Maurice Green, LaVonda Knox, Crystal Merritt, Lynetta Richardson, Taria Robinson, Willie Robinson, Jr., and Nadine Traba.   Since the chapter’s inception, student members have been involved in a number of campus and community service activities.  


Dr. Cassandra Sligh Conway, interim chair of the Department of Human Services, brought greetings and commended the new inductees for their hard work and commitment to academic excellence.