Department of Social Sciences

The College of Education, Humanities, and Social Sciences includes the following departments: Education, English and Modern Languages, Human Services, Social Sciences, and Visual and Performing Arts. Each department offers comprehensive programs of instruction, as well as other educational and professional experiences that contribute to the total development of the individual. This heterogeneous group of disciplines embraces the development of critical thinking, fluent expression in writing and speech, sensitivity to ethical and aesthetic standards, a knowledge and understanding of history and culture, and a commitment to the preparation of certified teachers and professional personnel.

Undergraduate Programs

Political Science


Dr. Benedict Jua

For more information, contact:

Department of Social Sciences
300 College Street, NE
Orangeburg, SC 29117
Phone: 803-536-7127
Fax: 803-533-3765