Registrar’s Office / Veterans Affairs Q & A

Below is a list of frequently asked questions with answers which include links to websites with further information. However, if at any time you have questions you cannot find an answer to in these pages, please feel free to contact the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs 1-888-SC-DOGGS(723-6447) / 803-536-7185 / registrar@scsu.edu. We will be happy to help!

Annie Belton
Registrar

1. General Information

How does SC State University define full-time and part-time status?
  • An undergraduate registered for twelve or more credit hours is considered full-time. An undergraduate registered for eleven hours or less is considered part-time.
  • A graduate student taking nine or more credit hours constitutes full-time status. A Graduate student registered for eight hours or less is considered part-time.
Is there a calendar available for specific semester dates?

You can view University calendars on the Academic Calendar section of the Registrar’s Office webpage. The University reserves the right to make changes to the Academic Calendar at any time.

How can I get information on Financial Aid?
I have questions concerning on-campus housing, who should I contact?

Residence Life & Housing: 803-533-3675, 803-536-8560 or SCSUHousing@scsu.edu. You can visit the Office of Residence Life & Housing in Earle Hall.

Where can I get my questions answered concerning my son or daughter's tuition/bill?

Students can log into Bulldog Connection with their user name and password to view an assessment of their bill. From the Home tab students can follow these steps:

  1. Login
  2. Click on “Student Administrative Services”
  3. Click on “Student & Financial Aid”
  4. Click on “Student Account”
  5. Click on “Account Detail for Term” and then “Submit” to view Assessment/Bill

You can also reach Accounts Receivable at 803-536-8991 or 536-8077 concerning billing statements and payments.

Where can I get information regarding Residency Policy in SC?

For information regarding residency, please refer to the “SC Code of Laws” for Residency, ” Residency Regulation on the SC Commission on Higher Education website, or the Spring 2011 Schedule Booklet (under “Residency Requirements” in the Table of Contents).

Frequently asked questions regarding SC Residency

How long must I live in South Carolina before I can establish residency?

  • Under most circumstances, a person must live in South Carolina for 12 consecutive months in order to establish residency.

What kind of documents establish intent to become a SC resident?

  1. Statement of full time employment;
  2. Designating South Carolina as state of legal residence on military record;
  3. Possession of a valid South Carolina driver’s license, or if a non driver, a South Carolina identification card. Failure to obtain this within 90 days of the establishment of the intent to become a South Carolina resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility;
  4. Possession of a valid South Carolina vehicle registration card. Failure to obtain this within 45 days of the establishment of the intent to become a South Carolina resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility;
  5. Maintenance of domicile in South Carolina;
  6. Paying South Carolina income taxes as a resident during the past tax year, including income earned outside of South Carolina from the date South Carolina domicile was claimed;
  7. Ownership of principal residence in South Carolina; and
  8. Licensing for professional practice (if applicable) in South Carolina.

*Please note that any single indicator may not be conclusive.

My parents and I were not residents of South Carolina when I graduated from high school, are there any State Scholarships or Grants I can qualify for?

  • Students who did not graduate from high school in South Carolina and were not dependents of SC residents at the time of high school graduation may be eligible to receive the SC Need-based Grant and/or Lottery Tuition Assistance. Please contact the financial aid office at your institution about your eligibility.

I am a member of the military. How does that affect my SC residency?

  • Members of the military permanently assigned in SC on active duty and their dependents qualify under an exception category. Military members and their dependents may be charged in-state tuition and fees without having to establish a permanent home in South Carolina.
  • SC residents who are members of the military stationed outside of SC and their dependents may receive in-state tuition and fees if they continue to claim SC as their state of legal residency. SC residents who change their state of legal residence lose their SC resident status for tuition and fee purposes

My parents are divorced. How does that affect my residency? What about scholarships?

  • If one of the following scenarios applies to your situation then you can claim SC residency:
    • Joint Custody and one parent is a SC resident; or
    • Parent that claiming the child on income taxes; or
    • Parent that is SC resident pays child support over the cost of attendance as dictated by the college.

    If you are a dependent of a SC resident then you may be eligible for State scholarships and grants. Please consult the financial aid office at your institution.

What happens if my parents are transferred out-of-state?

  • Generally, the student may continue to claim SC residency as long as he/she is continuously enrolled during all regular academic terms (fall and spring terms or their equivalent) if the family had lived in South Carolina for over three years and the move was job related.

My company transferred me to South Carolina from Florida my daughter’s senior year of high school. Will she be eligible for the State scholarships?

  • In order for her to be eligible for the Palmetto Fellows, LIFE or SC HOPE Scholarships, you will need to be a resident of SC at the time she graduates from high school. The following items will show the intent to become a resident of SC:
    1. Statement of full time employment in SC;
    2. Designating South Carolina as state of legal residence on military record;
    3. Possession of a valid South Carolina driver’s license, or if a non driver, a South Carolina identification card. Failure to obtain this within 90 days of the establishment of the intent to become a South Carolina resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility;
    4. Possession of a valid South Carolina vehicle registration card. Failure to obtain this within 45 days of the establishment of the intent to become a South Carolina resident will delay the beginning date of residency eligibility;
    5. Maintenance of domicile in South Carolina;
    6. Paying South Carolina income taxes as a resident during the past tax year, including income earned outside of South Carolina from the date South Carolina domicile was claimed;
    7. Ownership of principal residence in South Carolina; and
    8. Licensing for professional practice (if applicable) in South Carolina.

What is the difference in applying for residency as dependent or independent?

  • If a parent, guardian, or spouse provided more than half of the student’s support for the past twelve months, the student is considered dependent and it is the parent, guardian, or spouse that must meet the residency requirements. If the student provided the majority of support, then the student may be eligible to apply as independent. An independent student must have his/her own SC domicile. Dormitory housing cannot be used as one’s domicile, as it is temporary in nature.

Am I required to provide over 50% of my total financial support to be considered independent?

  • You must provide over 50% of your total support with earnings coming from is his/her own earnings or income from employment, investments, or payments from trusts, grants, scholarships, commercial loans, or payments made in accordance with court order. Total support must also be greater than total expenses.

Can gifts from parents and relatives be counted as support that a student has provided?

  • No. Gifts are considered money coming from elsewhere and do not count toward financial independence. Financial support must come from the sources listed in the law/regulations.

Are Parent (PLUS) loans considered financial support contributed by students?

  • No. PLUS loans are applied for and awarded to the parents.

Are pre-paid tuition plans considered financial support provided by the parents?

  • Yes. Even though pre-payment plans are in students’ names, the parents contributed the funds and received the tax benefits. Therefore, they are considered funds from the parents.

Can I use the money I’ve saved in my savings and checking accounts to establish my financial independence?

  • A student may be allowed to use money saved in a savings or checking account if he/she can prove that the funds are from allowable sources. Allowable sources consist of his/her own earnings or income from employment, investments, or payments from trusts, grants, scholarships, commercial loans, or payments made in accordance with court order.

Does owning property in South Carolina allow students to receive in-state tuition?

  • No. For independent students, owning property by itself does not allow students to receive in-state tuition, as the other requirements still must be met. For parents of dependent students, South Carolina must be the primary state of residence. Simply owning property is not sufficient.

If I have lived in South Carolina for more than one year, does that make me eligible for in-state tuition?

  • No. There is nothing automatic about residency. You must meet all of the requirements, submit a residency application, and be approved before you become eligible.

If I move here and live with relatives, does that make me eligible?

  • Not unless the relative has court-ordered guardianship and claims you on their taxes.

Am I eligible for residency if I use a South Carolina address on all of my records and legal documents?

  • You still must meet the other requirements. For admission, other factors are important, such as the source of transcripts and addresses of parents.

Can I use my on-campus apartment as my family’s residence?

  • On-campus housing is considered temporary because you must be a student to live in it. As a result, you may not use on-campus housing to prove in-state residency.

If I enroll as an out-of-state student my first year can I receive in-state tuition and fees the second year if I live off-campus?

  • No. You would need to establish residency and show you are in SC for reasons other than attending college.

Where do I submit an appeal if I do not agree with the institution’s decision?

  • Students wishing to appeal a decision must follow the grievance procedures established by the college or university to which they apply.
How do I apply for In-State Tuition?

Students can download a Legal Residency Application Form from the Registrar’s Office website or pickup the Form in Moss Hall, Room 202. Residency Applications are submitted to the Registrar’s Office for processing. Applications must be submitted to the Registrar’s Office 30 DAYS PRIOR to the start of the request term.

2. Access to Student Academic & Financial Information and Frequently Asked Questions about FERPA

What is FERPA?

FERPA stands for the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act. Formerly, the Buckley Amendment, FERPA is a federal law (20 U.S.C. section 1232g) that was passed by Congress in 1974 to protect the privacy of student education records.

Why is FERPA important?

If you’re a student, it’s important for you to understand your rights under FERPA. If you’re a parent, you’ll need to understand that the rights to educational records are transferred from the parent to the child once student enters a post-secondary institution.

What are the student’s rights under FERPA?

FERPA gives students four basic rights with respect to their education record:

  • The right to control disclosure of their education record
  • The right to review their education record
  • The right to request amendment of inaccurate or misleading portions of their education record
  • The right to file a complaint regarding non-compliance of FERPA with the Family Policy Compliance Office of the U.S. Department of Education
Why do I have limited access to my son or daughter's college records when I am paying the bills?

Under FERPA, once a student turns eighteen or attends any postsecondary educational institution (including enrolled students under the age of 18), access to academic or financial records are transferred from the parent/legal guardian to the student.

How can I find out my son or daughter’s grades?

The best approach is to ask your son or daughter directly. Open communication can prevent feelings of mistrust or an invasion of privacy within the students. Students can provide their parents with important academic and financial information through Bulldog Connection.
However, educational records can be released if one of the following criteria is met:

  1. Through the written consent of the student, a release form may be obtained from the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs that requires the signature of the student and parent and must be filled out in the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs. This form remains on file and in effect unless changed by the student in person and in writing.
  2. By submission of evidence that the parent(s) declared the student as a dependent on their most recent federal income tax form and at the discretion of the institution. This information must be submitted to the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs.
How can I find out about my son or daughter’s bill?

FERPA prohibits the University from giving information concerning a student’s bill or financial aid information to parents over the phone or in-person. However, bills are mailed to the student’s permanent address.
Students view their billing and financial aid information via Bulldog Connection. Students can give parents their username and password to access financial related information through Bulldog Connection.

Will I be notified if my son or daughter is placed on academic probation?

No. Information about grades and academic standing is sent directly to students. You can, of course, ask your child to keep you informed about his academic performance.

Will I be notified if my child is charged with an offense through the University’s disciplinary policies?

No. Disciplinary records, with few exceptions, may not be disclosed without the student’s consent. Student Services may recommend to students that they inform their parents when they are accused of a disciplinary offense.

What is Directory Information?

Directory Information is not considered confidential by FERPA and can be released at the discretion of the University. Directory Information includes:

  • Student’s name
  • Participation in officially recognized activities and sports
  • Address
  • Telephone listing
  • Weight and height of members of athletic teams
  • Electronic mail address
  • Photograph
  • Degrees, honors, and awards received
  • Date and place of birth
  • Major Field of study
  • Dates of attendance
  • Grade level
  • The most recent educational institution
Can a student block the release of Directory Information?

A. Yes. Students may block the release of directory information by filling out a Directory Disclosure Form with the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs. Students must present a Picture I.D.

What is Non-Directory Information

A. Non-Directory Information is considered confidential by FERPA cannot be released without the student’s consent. Non-Directory Information includes:

  • Education records
  • Enrollment records
  • Student work (exams, papers, reports, projects, etc.)
  • Grades
  • Class schedules
  • Disciplinary files
  • Financial aid information
  • Student employment records
  • Academic Progress
Is the University required to release a student’s non-directory information?

No. The only required disclosure of education records is to the student. All other disclosures, including those with student consent and disclosures of directory information, are at the discretion of the institution.

How can I reach my child in class during a time of an emergency?

A student’s class schedule (including times and building location) is considered Non-Directory Information and cannot be released without the written consent of the student. However, parents can call campus police (803-536-7188) in emergency situations. Designated University representatives will contact your child on your behalf.

Whom should I contact with questions or concerns with FERPA?

Direct all general questions and concerns to the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Office.

Phone: 803-536-8406
Fax: 803-536-8602
Email: registrar@scsu.edu
On Campus: 204 Moss Hall
Mail: Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs
Post Office Box 8104
300 College St, NE
Orangeburg, SC 29117-0001

Additional information concerning FERPA can be found by downloading the FERPA Brochure for Parents.

3. Registration and Scheduling

Is my son or daughter registered?

We can verify dates of attendance; however, according to the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA) we cannot release specific registration information such as:

    • Number of Credits
    • Building Locations and Times

Please refer to the FEPRA section of the Registrar’s Office webpage regarding FERPA.

How do I register for classes?
  • New freshmen who have declared a major may register for courses through their academic Department Advisor. New freshmen with an undeclared major register through Student Success and Retention – Moss Hall – First Floor. Continuing undergraduates and graduate students register through Bulldog Connection.New freshmen with an undeclared major may register through Student Success & Retention, Moss Hall

For a step-by-step guide on how to registerfor courses on Bulldog Connection, please click Course Registration.

What is the Alternative Personal Identification Number (PIN)?

The Alternative Personal Identification Number or PIN is a six-digit code all undergraduate students receive from their advisor to register for courses via Bulldog Connection

Who is required to obtain an Alternate PIN?
  • It is mandatory that all continuing undergraduates with majors obtain an Alternative PIN from their advisor (Academic Department). Only advisors or department chairs can issue an Alternate PIN.

Note: New freshmen with majors register for courses through Student Success and Retention.

Undeclared/undecided majors report to Student Success and Retention
(Moss Hall) to obtain their Alternate PIN.

Graduate students can register for courses via Bulldog Connection without
an Alternate PIN.

Can I maintain the same Alternate PIN during my enrollment at SC State University?
  • No. The Alternate PIN changes each semester. Enrolled students must obtain a new Alternate PIN from their advisor to register
What happens if a student does not pay all fees prior to the registration deadline?
  • If a student has not paid all fees by 5:00p.m. on the last day of registration, the University will drop that student’s Class Schedule, Housing Assignment, and Meal Plan.

For Fall, Summer, and Spring Registration Deadlines, please refer to the Academic Calendars.

Can a student register for classes after the late registration deadline?
  • No. Late Registration takes effect the day immediately following the registration deadline. Students must pay a late fee of $200.00 during the Late Registration period.
  • During the late registration period, students have until the day proceeding the first day of class to register. Students are not allowed to register after the first day of classes.
Can I register my son or daughter?
  • No. FERPA prevents the release of student or campus id numbers to third-parties (including parents) for registration. All students must meet with advisors before being able to register. Students register for classes via Bulldog Connection.
Why wasn’t my son or daughter able to get into a particular course?
  • Courses, especially general education courses, courses within a popular major, or courses for graduating seniors can quickly fill. Therefore, it is to the student’s advantage to register early during the registration period.
If my son needs a course and was unable to register for it, what should he do?
  • Students are continually dropping and adding to their schedules during the registration period; therefore, a student can continue to try to add a course until the end of the ADD/DROP period. There are a number of options in fulfilling general education and major curriculum requirements as possible selections. Advisors and departmental representatives can provide assistance in selecting options.

For information on the ADD/DROP period, please refer to the Academic Calendars.

How can a student register for more than 18 credit hours?
  • The privilege of carrying extra courses may be accorded to sophomores, juniors, and seniors. A student with a grade point average of 3.00 or better may carry one extra course.
  • Permission to carry one or more extra courses above the normal load, but not to exceed twenty-one credit hours, may be granted only with the prior written approval of the dean of the college and the departmental chair. This written approval must be submitted to the Registrar’s Office. (NOTE: Additional fees may apply to overload credit hours.)
Can I add or drop a course after the ADD/DROP period?
  • No. The final day to add or drop a course is the last day of the ADD/DROP period. Immediately following the last day of the ADD/DROP period, students will receive grades of “W” (Withdrawal), “WP” (Withdrawal Passing), or “WF” (Withdrawal failing) based on the period a course is withdrawn. Note: Check the Academic Calendars for Withdraw period deadlines.
How can I enroll in a Closed Course?
  • Ask the instructor teaching the course to perform a closed course override in Banner-Self Service. Students must submit to the instructor their Banner ID#. Students must register for the course after the instructor performs the Closed Course Override.
Can I enroll in a course that requires a Pre-Requisite?
  • Yes if you have taken the prerequisite.
  • Student cannot enroll in a course that requires a prerequisite without the approval of the instructor or the Department Chair if he has not taken the prerequisite.
Should I register for upper level courses before my transfer credits are evaluated by SC State?
  • No. Ensure that all transfer credits are evaluated prior to registration. For information about transfer evaluation, please contact the Admissions Office at 803-536-7186.

Courses taken at other institutions will be accepted only as credit. Transfer credit is not factored into a student’s GPA at the University.

My son or daughter is registered, but has decided not to enroll for the upcoming semester, what should he/she do?
  • Prior to the last day of the ADD/DROP period, students can drop their courses via Bulldog Connection. Students can contact Financial Aid and Residence Life & Housing concerning financial aid packages, housing assignments, or meal plans. If officially registered it is the student’s responsibility, not the responsibility of the professor or the University to drop courses, housing assignments, or meal plans.
  • The final day a student can receive a 100% refund for all registration fees (courses, housing assignments, and meal plans) is the final day of the ADD/DROP period or the end of the first week of classes for the Fall and Spring Semesters. In the Summer Semester, refunds are 75% within the first five days after the opening of the summer session. No refunds are allowed by the sixth day of classes. Refund Schedule.

For additional information on ADD/DROP period deadlines, please refer to the Academic Calendars.

For additional information on refunds, please refer to the Fall, Spring, or Summer Schedule Booklets, or the Refund Schedule.

What happens if a student is registered and decides to withdraw from a course after the end of the ADD/DROP period?
  • If a student is officially registered for a course, it is the student’s responsibility, not the instructor, to officially withdraw from a course or the University. Withdrawing from a course after the end of the ADD/DROP period may result in grades of “W” (Withdrawal), “WP” (Withdrawal Passing), or “WF” (Withdrawal Failure).
  • Withdrawing from a course after the end of the ADD/DROP period will result in the student being responsible for course fees.

For additional information on withdrawal period deadlines and our refund policy, please refer to the Academic Calendars, the Fall, Spring, or Summer Schedule Booklets, or the Refund Schedule.

What happens if a student is registered and decides to withdraw from the University after the end of the ADD/DROP period?
  • A student must complete a University Withdrawal Form and submit it to the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs immediately following the last day of the ADD/DROP period. If a student has a housing assignment, the student must get a signature from Residence Life & Housing. All other signatures on the Form are required.
  • If a student is officially registered for a course, it is the student’s responsibility, not the instructor, to officially withdraw from a course or the University. Withdrawing from a course after the end of the ADD/DROP period may result in grades of “W” (Withdrawal), “WP” (Withdraw Passing), or “WF” (Withdraw Failure), or “UF” (Unofficial Withdrawal-F).
  • Withdrawing from the University after the end of the ADD/DROP period may result in the student being responsible for course, housing, and meal plan fees.

Students can download a University Withdrawal Form off the Forms section of the Registrar’s Office webpage. Students can also pick up the University Withdrawal Form in the Registrar’s Office-Moss Hall Room 204.

For additional information on withdrawal period deadlines and our refund policy, please refer to our Academic Calendars and the Schedule Booklets on the University website.

4. Major and Minors, Change of Major, Classification of Students

When should I declare a major?
  • Students should indicate their field of study no later than the end of the freshman year.
How can I pursue a double major?
  • Students may pursue two different majors at the University with prior approval of both departments and/or colleges with the completion of a minimum of thirty (30) semester hours above the requirements for the primary major. The degree will be awarded in the primary major only. The transcript will list both primary and secondary majors. Secondary Major Forms with all required signatures are submitted to the Registrar’s Office.

For information on the criteria student must meet to pursue a double major, please refer to the University Catalog. To download a Secondary Major Form, please click Forms on the web. Students can also pick up the Secondary Major Form in the Registrar’s Office-Moss Hall Room 204.

How can I pursue a minor?
  • Student should indicate a minor field closely related to their major in which they will do a definite amount of work. Some majors require specific minors.
  • Minors are not posted on your transcript until all required hours for the minor are earned. Minor Forms with all required signatures are submitted to the Registrar’s Office for processing.

To download a Minor Form, please click Forms on the Registrar’s Office webpage. Students can also pick up a Minor Form in the Registrar’s Office-Moss Hall Room 204.

How can I change my major?
  • To process a change of major, you must submit a Change of Major Form to the Registrar’s Office with all required signatures
  • In order for the new major to post for the CURRENT TERM, the form MUST be processed by the following dates:
    Fall: October 1st
    Spring: March 1st
    Summer: July 16th

To download a Change of Major Form, please click Forms on the Registrar’s Office page.

How many credit hours must I earn to be classified as a Sophomore, Junior, or Senior?
  • Classification of students is based on the total number of semester credits earned and transfer credits accepted for transfer students:Freshman – twenty-nine semester hour credits or less
    Sophomore – thirty semester hour credits
    Junior – sixty semester hour credits
    Senior – ninety semester hour credits

5. Grading Policies

How can I obtain a copy of my son or daughter’s grades?
  • Grades are no longer mailed. Students can access their grades via Bulldog Connection. Students must give written consent to allow a third party (including parents) to view grades. Please refer to FERPA section of the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs webpage concerning the release of student records.
If a student registers for a course but never attends, how will that affect a student’s grades?
  • A student’s failure to officially withdraw from a course after the period to award a grade of “W” (grades of “W” or Withdraw do not negatively impact a student’s GPA) can result in the student receiving a grade of “WF” (Withdraw Failing) or UF (Unofficial Withdrawal-F).
  • If a student is registered for a course, it is the student’s responsibility, not the instructor, to officially withdraw from the course if not attending.
How can a student calculate their GPA?
  • Grade Point Averages (GPA) are computed by dividing the total Grades Points earned by the Quality Hours pursued. Students can calculate their Grade Point Average via the GPA Calculator on the Registrar’s Office webpage.
Who evaluates transfer credit?
  • Transfer credits are evaluated by the Office of Admissions, Recruitment and Scholarship. You may contact the Office of Admissions, Recruitment and Scholarship at 803-536-7186.
Will my transfer credits count toward my GPA at SC State?
  • Credit taken at other schools will not count towards your GPA at SC State. Grades earned at other institutions will only count as credit towards the completion of your degree.
What is Credit by Examination?
  • To obtain information regarding pertinent policies and procedures
    and credit by examination, students should consult their academic
    advisor and the chair of the department which offers the
    course(s) concerned, respectively. Credit by Examination Forms may
    be obtained from the Registrar’s Office OR the Forms section on the Registrar’s Office webpage (See Student Handbook for further details.)

The Policies for students seeking Credit by Examination are the following:

  1. A student must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or better at the time (s)he petitions for credit by examination.
  2. A maximum number of semester credits that may be earned through the credit by examination procedure is thirty (30).
  3. The course(s) to be challenged must be offered in the semester in which the student seeks to earn the credit(s).
  4. A student will not be permitted to challenge any courses:
    • constituting the final thirty (30) hours of his /her curriculum;
    • carrying prerequisites until all prerequisites have been met successfully, or
    • (c) which do not ordinarily lend themselves to this procedure-specifically, group dynamics processes, physical education activity, laboratory, directed teaching and practicum/field placement courses.
  5. Only grades of “P” and “F” will be given for all examinations. Credits earned by examination will not be computed in the student’s grade point average, but will be included in hours earned for graduation. The grade of “5” is the equivalent of C’ or better. Credit will be recorded on the student’s transcript only if a grade of “P” is obtained.
  6. Full-time students 12-15 hours will be charged a fee of $25.00 for a course examination up to 18 hours. Then students will be charged $25.00 and on the basis of the current fee per credit hour.
  7. Part-time students will be charged on the basis of the current fee per credit hour.
  8. A refund of fees will be made only if the student does not sit for the examination because of a well-documented emergency.

Please refer to the Schedule of Charges regarding credit hour amounts.

How can I obtain additional information on University Grading Policies?
  • Please refer to the Academic Regulations section of the University Catalog on the Registrar’s Office page for additional information concerning grading policies.

6. Academic Appeal

What are the Academic Appeal Procedures for Readmission?

Students appealing to the Academic Review Board must do the following:

  1. Satisfy the punitive period before petitioning the Academic Review Board or present documented evidence of extenuating circumstances which may warrant an early review for readmission (students with an Academic Dismissal status cannot petition the Academic Review Board for an early readmission).
  2. Obtain an Academic Petition Form from the Registrar’s Office (download from the Forms section of the Registrar’s Office page).
  3. Complete Part I of the Academic Petition Form and attach supporting documentation such as support letters, medial statements, obituaries, etc., as necessary.
  4. Request an appointment with department chair/advisor for review of academic status, and approval of petition.
  5. Submit petition to the Registrar’s Office on or before the 15th of April, July, or November.
  6. Return Academic Petition Form to:
    Office of the Registrar
    South Carolina State University
    2nd Floor Moss Hall
    Post Office Box 8104
    Orangeburg, SC 29117-0001

The Academic Review Board meets three times yearly – during the last week of April, July, and November or the first week in the respective month. Contact the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs at (803) 536-7185 for information on possible call meetings.

7. Graduation

Who should apply for graduation?
  • All prospective graduates, undergraduate and graduate students.
When are the application periods for graduation?
  • May graduates apply in the preceding Fall Semester. July and December graduates apply in the preceding Spring Semester.
  • Dates for Graduation Applications periods are found on the Academic Calendars on the Registrar’s Office webpage.
How do I apply for graduation?
  • All prospective graduates must file an Application for Graduation and pay the required fee. The Application for Graduation must be filed in the term prior to the term of degree completion by the date noted on the Academic CalendarApplication for Graduation is not considered filed until the graduation fee is paid and the application is submitted to the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs. Students who apply late for graduation will be charged a late fee as outlined on the Graduation Application.

Prospective may download Application for Graduation via the Forms or Graduation Information sections on the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs webpage.

How do I know that I have completed all degree requirements for graduation?
  • Students are responsible for the completion of their academic program based upon the requirements stated in the University Catalog. The advisor is available to counsel, but the responsibility to ensure all degree completion remains with the student. Students should always see advisor and check their degree audit before making course selections for the next term.

For instructions on how to perform degree audits on Bulldog Connection, please refer to the CAPP or CAPP Power Point for Students.

Do I participate in the Spring or Fall Convocation?
  • May graduates march in the Spring Convocation. July and December graduates march in the Fall Convocation.
When will the University post my degree?
  • Degrees are posted the semester once all Degree Requirements are met and a Graduation Application is submitted to the Registrar’s Office. Degree Candidates also must clear all fees with the Registrar’s Office, Accounts Receivable, Whittaker Library, and Campus Police.
What is a degree audit?
  • A degree audit is the process used to determine if all University degree requirements have been met so the student is eligible for graduation.
How can my son or daughter perform a degree audit?
  • Students can perform degree audits via their advisor and through accessing Bulldog Connection.

For instructions on how to perform degree audits on Bulldog Connection, please refer to the CAPP or CAPP Power Point for Students.

How can I confirm if my son or daughter is on the graduation list?
  • The release of information related to a student’s academic progress (including graduation) is a violation of Family Educational Rights Privacy Act (FERPA). The student must give written authorization. Please refer “Frequently Asked Questions about FERPA” section for additional information.
How can a student graduate with Honors?
  • Degree candidates whose scholastic performance reflects high achievement in all their university courses through the senior year may graduate with distinction designated as:
    1. Summa Cum Laude: Grade Point Average of 3.75 or above.
    2. Magna Cum Laude: Grade Point Average of 3.50 through 3.74
    3. Cum Laude: Grade Point Average of 3.00 through 3.49

    Transfer students who enter with advanced standing and who
    have completed a minimum of sixty (60) hours at South Carolina
    State University are eligible for graduation with Magna Cum Laude
    and Cum Laude honors only. Cumulative GPAs are based solely on course
    work completed at SC State University. Effective Term: Fall 2006.

How do you order graduation regalia (caps, gowns, announcements)?
  • Students order graduation regalia through the University Bookstore. Additional information on how to order graduation regalia will be available at a later time.
  • Graduation announcements are ordered from the University Bookstore.
Where do you pickup graduation regalia?
  • Additional information on graduation regalia pickup will be available at a later time.
Where do I pickup graduation tickets?
  • Students can pickup graduation tickets on the day and site of Rehearsal.
How do I receive my diploma?
  • Diplomas will be mailed to permanent addresses within (30) days after Commencement.

8. Veterans Affairs

What benefits do I receive as a veteran or dependent of a veteran?
  • Eligibility for benefits as a veteran or dependent of a veteran is determined by the Department of Veterans Affairs. Information on payments or benefits is available at Education Benefits on the Department of Veterans Affairs website.
How do I obtain VA benefits with SC State University?
  • Students must apply for benefits with the Department of Veterans Affairs. Students can apply via the VONAPP, Veterans On-line Application, at http://vabenefits.vba.va.gov/vonapp/main.asp or Veterans Application. Veterans eligible for benefits will fill out Form 22-1990. Dependents of veterans will fill out Form 22-5490.
  • The Department of Veterans Affairs will mail you a Letter of Eligibility. Once received, please submit to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs at:Veterans Affairs Coordinator:
    The Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs
    204 Moss Hall
    Post Office Box 8104
    Orangeburg, SC 29117
  • It can take 6 to 8 weeks for the Department of Veterans Affairs. It is strongly recommended that students seeking veteran benefits apply via the VONAPP no later than June 1 for the Fall Semester and December 1 for the Spring Semester.

The VA Coordinator can be reached at 803-536-8405 or visiting the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs in Moss Hall 204.

How do I certify my enrollment?
  • Students with veteran benefits can certify their enrollment by submitting a VA Enrollment Certification Request Form to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs. Students can pick up the Form in Moss Hall 204 or download from our website in Forms – click “Veterans Affairs Certification Form.” Fax Form to 803-536-8602 or mail to the following address:
    The Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs
    204 Moss Hall
    Post Office Box 8104
    Orangeburg, SC 29117
What is not covered by the Department of Veterans Affairs?
  • The payment of VA educational assistance may not be made for any course or grade that is not computed in the graduation requirements of that school. Courses or grades that do not count towards a student’s graduation requirements may include:
    • Course Withdrawals
    • Grades of Incomplete that are not removed from a student’s record
    • Courses that do not serve as requirements or electives towards a student’s degree. Elective must not exceed the minimum number of credit hours required for graduation
  • Please notify the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office immediately if you are taking a course or have earned a grade that does not count towards graduation requirements. It is strongly recommended that students report such information prior to the start of the current semester.
  • Grades and courses that are not computed into a student’s degree requirements may result in an overpayment. If an overpayment occurs, the student will be charged with a debt to the U.S. Government.
What should I do if I am certified as a full time student, but I drop below 12 credit hours after classes begin?
  • An undergraduate student must be officially registered for 12 credit hours to obtain full-time status. Receiving the pay rate of a full time student when you are enrolled in less than 12 credit hours will result in an overpayment. If an overpayment occurs, the student will be charged with a debt to the U.S. Government.
  • Notify the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office immediately. The VA Coordinator will make the necessary adjustments to your certification with the Department of Veterans Affairs. It is strongly recommended that the student report changes in credit hours prior to the first day of class.
What should I do if am transfer student with veterans benefits?
  • Transfer students must complete a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form in order to have their veterans benefits transferred from their previous institution. Veterans will complete Form 22-1995 while dependents of veterans will complete Form 22-5495.

Transfer students must submit the Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office.

What should I do if I decide to change my major?
  • Submit a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office. Veterans will complete Form 22-1995 while dependents of veterans will complete Form 22-5495
What should I do if I decide to withdraw from SC State or transfer to another university?
  • Contact the VA Coordinator immediately. The VA Coordinator will terminate your enrollment at SC State University with the Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • In addition to the termination of enrollment, students transferring to another university must submit a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to that institution.
How may I contact the VA Certifying Official at SC State University or the Department of Veterans Affairs?

You can reach the VA Coordinator via phone at 803-536-8826 or 803-536-7185.

The mailing address for the VA Coordinator is as follows:

The Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs
204 Moss Hall
Post Office Box 8104
Orangeburg, SC 29117

For questions concerning education benefits, please contact the Department of Veterans Affairs at:

SC State University Veterans Affairs Office 803-536-8826 or 536-7185
SC State University Veterans Affairs Fax 803-536-8602
Department of Veteran Affairs 888-442-4551
VA Phone Assistance & General Benefits Information (including general Vocational Rehabilitation questions) 800-827-1000
Chapters 30, 1606, & 1607 for monthly enrollment verification & payment) 877-823-2378

9. Transcripts

How may I request a transcript?
  • Students may request a transcript by completing a Transcript Request Form and submitting it to the Registrar’s Office. The Transcript Request Form can be secured by going to www.scsu.edu, click on Admissions, Registrar’s Office, Transcripts or Forms. Print and complete the form.
Effective August 17, 2012, the university no longer accept personal checks for payment. The approved forms of payment for services or fees are cash, cashier’s check, official bank check, money order or credit/debit cards( Visa, American Express, MasterCard)
How may I pay for a transcript?
  • Please contact the Cashier’s Office (803-536-8529 or 803-536-8546) first to submit your payment by credit/debit. Once your payment has been processed, the Cashier’s will provide to you a receipt number to include on your request when you fax, mail, or submit it in person to the Registrar’s Office. Transcripts are $10.00 per copy if mailed or picked up. The University does not fax transcripts to any location.
Can a parent request a transcript for his or her child?
  • No. Transcripts will not be released to or for anyone except the owner of the record, unless officially requested in writing by the student. The Student must have photo identification available upon submitting a request and/or to pickup a transcript.
Can I request a transcript if I have a financial hold on my record?
  • No. Transcripts will not be released if the student is financially obligated to the University.
Can I pickup my transcript?
  • Yes. Please note that, transcripts issued to a student or graduate will be placed in a sealed envelope and have the words “Issued to Student in a Sealed Envelope” stamped across the flap.
Is my transcript official if it is faxed?
  • No. Fax transcripts are considered copies by most college and universities. Therefore, the University does not fax transcripts to any location.
I repeated a course and earned a higher grade. Will the lower grade remain on my transcript?
  • Yes. All failures, repeated courses, withdrawals, incomplete grades, will be shown on transcripts.
Will detailed work from other colleges show up on my SC State University transcript?
  • No. Transcript will show work completed at South Carolina State University. However, if a student has transfer/transient hours they will appear on the transcript as transfer credits and will not compute in the University GPA.

10. Verifications & Updating Personal Information

What is the purpose of the Verification of Enrollment Letter?
  • Often companies such as insurance agencies request proof of a student’s current enrollment. A Verification of Enrollment Letter is an official document of a student’s current enrollment status that can be sent to these external agencies.
How may I request a Verification of Enrollment Letter?

Verification of Enrollment Letter may be obtained through the following:

  1. Download the “Verification Request Form” off the Forms section on the Registrar Office website. Complete and submit to the Registrar’s Office to process. Students can fax form to (803) 536-8602.
  2. Beginning in the Spring 2011 Semester, students will have the option of printing enrollment verifications at their convenience via the National Student Clearinghouse. Steps on how to verify your enrollment through the National Student Clearinghouse will be available soon.
Can the University fax Verification of Enrollment Letters?
  • Yes. Verification of Enrollment Letters can be mailed, faxed, and picked up in the Registrar’s Office. There is no charge to pickup or mail a Verification of Enrollment Letter. There is a $5.00 charge for faxed a Letter. The fee is paid in the Cashier’s Office, and then submitted to the Registrar’s Office for processing.
Can I receive a Verification of Enrollment Letter if I have a financial hold?
  • No. A Verification of Enrollment Letter will not be released if the student is financial obligated to the University. Please contact the Accounts Receivable Office (803-536-8534, 803-536-8991 or 803-536-7435) first to make certain that your account is clear prior to submitting payment and your request.
How may I change my phone number or address?

Instructions:

  • Go to https://luminis.scsu.edu/cp/home/displaylogin
  • If you are a first time user to the left click on “To retrieve your log in information, click here. “ Your login and password will be provided. Otherwise enter your login and password here.
  • Click on “Student Administrative Services”
  • Click on “Personal Information”
  • Click on “Update Addresses and Phones”
  • Click on “Current” beside the address you want to update.
  • Make you changes and Click on “Submit”

Please ensure that all your addresses are correct in Bulldog Connection. Correct addresses will directly affect the delivery of all correspondence from the University. Your Username and Password for Bulldog Connection allows access to ALL of your personal and academic information. Don’t share it with others.

How may I change my name or my social security number?
  • Name changes will be made only when the student provides a copy of changed Driver’s License. If the name change is the result of a marriage or divorce, students must provide a Marriage Certificate or Court-Ordered Name Change/Divorce Decree. Supporting documentation along with a Change of Information Form must be submitted to the Registrar’s Office.
  • Social security numbers changes are only made when the student provides their original Social Security Card as supporting evidence. A copy must be made and submitted along with a Change of Information Form to the Registrar’s Office.

Students may download and complete a “Change of Information Form” via the Forms section on the Registrar’s Office webpage.

What is not covered by the Department of Veterans Affairs?
  • The payment of VA educational assistance may not be made for any course or grade that is not computed in the graduation requirements of that school. Courses or grades that do not count towards a student’s graduation requirements may include:
    • Course Withdrawals
    • Grades of Incomplete that are not removed from a student’s record
    • Courses that do not serve as requirements or electives towards a student’s degree. Elective must not exceed the minimum number of credit hours required for graduation
  • Please notify the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office immediately if you are taking a course or have earned a grade that does not count towards graduation requirements. It is strongly recommended that students report such information prior to the start of the current semester.
  • Grades and courses that are not computed into a student’s degree requirements may result in an overpayment. If an overpayment occurs, the student will be charged with a debt to the U.S. Government.
What should I do if I am certified as a full time student, but I drop below 12 credit hours after classes begin?
  • An undergraduate student must be officially registered for 12 credit hours to obtain full-time status. Receiving the pay rate of a full time student when you are enrolled in less than 12 credit hours will result in an overpayment. If an overpayment occurs, the student will be charged with a debt to the U.S. Government.
  • Notify the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office immediately. The VA Coordinator will make the necessary adjustments to your certification with the Department of Veterans Affairs. It is strongly recommended that the student report changes in credit hours prior to the first day of class.
What should I do if am transfer student with veterans benefits?

Transfer students must complete a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form in order to have their veterans benefits transferred from their previous institution. Veterans will complete Form 22-1995 while dependents of veterans will complete Form 22-5495.

Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form

     to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office.
What should I do if I decide to change my major?
  • Submit a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office. Veterans will complete Form 22-1995 while dependents of veterans will complete Form 22-5495
What should I do if I decide to change my major?
  • Submit a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to the VA Coordinator in the Registrar’s Office. Veterans will complete Form 22-1995 while dependents of veterans will complete Form 22-5495
What should I do if I decide to withdraw from SC State or transfer to another university?
  • Contact the VA Coordinator immediately. The VA Coordinator will terminate your enrollment at SC State University with the Department of Veterans Affairs.
  • In addition to the termination of enrollment, students transferring to another university must submit a Request for Change of Program or Place of Training Form to that institution.
How may I contact the VA Certifying Official at SC State University or the Department of Veterans Affairs?
    1. You can reach the VA Coordinator via phone at 803-536-8826 or 803-536-7185.
    1. The mailing address for the VA Coordinator is as follows:
    1. The Registrar’s Office/Veterans Affairs
    1. 204 Moss Hall
    1. Post Office Box 8104
    1. Orangeburg, SC 29117

 

    1. For questions concerning education benefits, please contact the Department of Veterans Affairs at:
SC State University Veterans Affairs Office 803-536-8826 or 536-7185
SC State University Veterans Affairs Fax 803-536-8602
Department of Veteran Affairs 888-442-4551
VA Phone Assistance & General Benefits Information (including general Vocational Rehabilitation questions) 800-827-1000
Chapters 30, 1606, & 1607 for monthly enrollment verification & payment) 877-823-2378