Skip To Top NavigationSkip To ContentSkip To Footer
Elizabeth B. Horton
Elizabeth B.  Horton

Academic AffairsCollege of Graduate & Professional StudiesDirector, Office of Graduate ServicesTurner Hall B-Wing 205803-747-9452

Elizabeth B. Horton

Elizabeth B. Horton serves as the student service program coordinator and director in the Office of Graduate Services. In her position, she ensures the efficient processing of admission applications and credentials, allowing applicants to register without delays. Miss Horton is diligent in identifying and reporting system issues that may hinder the admissions input process. She takes charge of generating essential communication, including acknowledgment, acceptance, and rejection letters for applicants, all within the designated timelines specified by the College of Graduate and Professional Studies dean. Additionally, she prepares reports of accepted files and promptly forwards them to the respective graduate program coordinators. Miss Horton's dedication and attention to detail contribute to the smooth functioning of the graduate admissions process and enhance the overall experience for prospective students.


  • South Carolina State University, Orangeburg, South Carolina May 2012, Master of Education, Counselor Education
  • Claflin University Orangeburg, South Carolina,  May 2008, Bachelor of Science, Organizational Management


Miss Horton is an esteemed member of the South Carolina State University community, having served since 2000. Throughout her journey at the university, she has held various important roles, showcasing her dedication and versatility. Her career at SC State began as a data entry specialist in the School of Graduate Studies from 2000 to 2004. Subsequently, she served as an administrative assistant to the dean of Graduate Studies and chair of Educational Leadership from 2004 to 2010. Miss Horton continued to excel as the administrative assistant to the chair of Educational Leadership from 2010 to 2015, and later as the administrative assistant to the chair of the Department of Education from 2015 to 2022.  Her significant contributions and exemplary work ethic were acknowledged by her peers, as she was nominated as the Staff Employee of the Year for the Division of Academic Affairs in the academic year 2021-2022.